Professor Mihir Kanti Chaudhuri Vice Chancellor of Tezpur University

Professor Mihir Kanti Chaudhuri

Vice-Chancellor, Tezpur University

Office of the Vice-Chancellor, Tezpur University, Tezpur-784028
Phone: +91 3712 267003(0),267093(R) Fax: +91 3712 267006


Academic Degrees :

M.Sc. (Inorganic Chemistry) from Kalyani University
PhD from IIT, Kharagpur
Dr. rer. nat.(Organometallic Chemistry) from Ruhr University, Germany

Current Position

Vice-Chancellor, Tezpur University, since 21st May 2007.

Previous Positions

Dean, Research and Development, Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati
Dean, Students' Affairs, Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati
Head, Department of Chemistry, Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati
Head, Department of Chemistry, North-Eastern Hill University, Shillong


Inorganic Chemistry, Chemical Technology and Green Chemistry

Areas of Research Interest

Synthesis and structural evaluation of inorganic compounds; Investigation of Reaction Profiles; Newer Materials and Methodologies; Inorganic Mass Spectrometry; Newer Reagents; Applied Inorganics; Green Chemistry


Membership of Professional/National Level Bodies/Societies

Chemistry Experts Panel Member of Union Public Service Commission since 1982
Experts Panel Member of Chemistry and Pollution Control under Ministry of Environment and Forests since 1985
Member of Extra Mural Research Committees of CSIR, New Delhi since 1987
Nominee of the President of India to the Boards of Management of Several universities/institutes
Member of Research Council, NEIST, Jorhat
Member of Chemistry Panel of University Grants Commission
Member of the Advisory Committee of CSIR, New Delhi on SSB and YS Awards since 1991
Member of the Committee constituted by Alexender von Humboldt Foundation on Germany on 'Exchange of Scientists and Advancement of Knowledge'
Member of Science, Technology and Environment Council, Govt.of Assam
Member of the Research Council of Human Resources Development Group (HRDG), CSIR, New Delhi
Member of the Science and Engineering Research Council (SERC), DST, Govt. of India
Member of the Employment Generation Council, Govt. of Meghalaya, and a member of the EC of Science and Technology Council, Govt. of Meghalaya
Member of the Editorial Board of Proceedings of Indian Academy of Sciences - Chemical Sciences, since 1993
Member of several UGC - Committees including COSIST and Special Assistance Programe, since 1992-93
Member of the PAC - Inorganic Chemistry of the DST, Ministry of Science and Technology, Govt. of India, since 1991
Member, Board of Directors, SMS Pharmaceuticals Limited, Hyderabad.
Vice President, Indian National Science Academy (INSA) for three years till 2015.
Member of Board of Governors, IIT Guwahati for three years till 2016.
Member, the Governing Board, National Institute of Biomedical Genomics (NIBMG), Kalyani for three years till May 31, 2016.
Member, Board of Governing Council, Indian Association for Cultivation of Science (IACS), Kolkata for three years till 2016.
Academic Distinctions/Awards received:
1. Honoured with D.Sc (honoris causa) by the Vidyasagar University, West Bengal in 2016
2. American Chemical Society- Green Chemistry Initiative, Pharma Round Table - Distinguished Honoured Lecture Award in the year 2012
3. Attended Indo-US Higher Education Summit held in Washington DC, USA as a member of the Indian delegation led by the Hon'ble Union Minister, HRD, GoI in the year 2012
4. Viswakabi Rabindranath Thakur Award of Indian Institute of Oriental Heritage, Kolkata in the year 2011
5. 18th Dewang Mehta B. School Award (for contribution in education) in the year 2010
6. Distinguished Alumnus Award of IIT Kharagpur in the year 2010
7. North East Excellence Award on Environment (Indian Chamber of Commerce) in the year 2010(for 2009)
8. Dr. J. N. Barua Lecture Award in the year 2009
9. S. S. Sandhu Award from Indian Chemical Society in the year 2005
10. Chemito Award in the year 2002
11. Professor P. Natarajan Endowment Award in the year 1998
12. Fellow of the National Science Academy (FNA) in the year 1991
13. Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award in Chemical Science in the year 1989
14. Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences (FASc) in the year 1988
15. Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship, West Germany in the year 1973
Research contributions
138 Research papers/articles published in reputed national/international journals.
08 (both US and Indian)  Patent registered against his contributions
26  Ph. D. produced so far
02 Technology transferred to industry
02 Books
Other information

He has also delivered lectures as Resource person in a number of National & International Seminar/Symposia/Conference/Workshop in India and abroad. He also chaired in various National & International conferences. A number of products invented/discovered by him have been adopted by a number of MNCs.